NaPoWriMo 29: Love Song

Going with the erasure prompt from the NaPoWriMo blog, a few days ago. Can I pare the neurosis and hopelessness from a section of T.S. Eliot’s immortal “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock”? Are those qualities even separable from desire?

you and I
against the

half-deserted streets

restless
And
overwhelming

Let us go and

come and go
Talking
into the corners of the
soft October night

And indeed there will be time
For
all the works of hands
That lift
you and me,
a hundred visions
for the taking .

I dare and I
descend
bald —
his growing
my mounting firmly ,
rich and modest, asserted
I
Disturb the universe
In a minute

I have known
the evenings
measured out
with
music from a farther room.

when I am sprawling
pinned and wriggling ,
I begin

braceleted and white and bare

Smoothed by long fingers,
Stretched on the floor, here beside you
I have wept and prayed,
brought in
I flicker
.

Leave a Reply

